Heads Or Tails

This week’s prompt for H O T is “This time of year”

I love/hate this time of year. I worked retail for 10 years so I have seen some of the worst behavior out of people at this time of year. Cutting in line, nearly running over people in the parking lot, pushing in the store, it was incrediable. I couldn’t believe that at a time of year when we are suppose to be “nice” and “giving” to each other can be so cruel and barbaic to each other. At least that’s how I felt my first two Christmas’s working retail. I was appalled at how such a beautiful time of year, with the lights twinking and the smell of hot apple cider and pine tree’s could get so ugly.

Even though my hometown wasn’t that big when I was growing up there were still some beautiful display’s around town by the local stores. Downtown Petaluma was always nicely done with wreaths on light poles and Christmas displays in store front windows that were not only selling the items in their stores but also setting a tone for the season.

That’s what I like about Bisbee. There is no big flashy display. There is a simple Festival of Lights, which we didn’t go to this year, where they sing Christmas carols, the cheerleaders perform and then Santa arrives. Most of the business’s have some display in their window, entered in the holiday display contest, and of course the lights.

Last year we didn’t do anything as a family on Christmas Eve but Savie and I drove around and looked at all the lights people had up. This year I doubt hubby will want to go (since he finds my seats uncomfortable and willing be working until late tomorrow) but we will again drive around looking at lights only this time we will have some popcorn to go along with it.

So I’m a little conflicted about this holiday. On one hand it’s a beautiful time of year with displays and lights and good cheer but on the down side things like this happen because we are way to commericalized.

3 thoughts on “Heads Or Tails

  1. I’ve never worked retail before but it sound scary the day after Thanksgiving. I think I would go to work during the holidays with army boots and helmet plus be coward and hide behind the desk.

    Coffee is on.

  2. I worked retail one year at Christmas and so I have a small idea of which you speak. Everyone is in such a hurry.. but what they seem to sometimes forget is that so is everyone else.

    Wishing you and yours a very Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

