Heads or Tails #1

This weeks prompt for H O T is “Three things”

I learned quite a few things in 2008. I learned that I have a lot of patience for kids. A LOT. I worked volunteered at a learning center since the middle of summer and have been dealing with a lot kids. Some of them are good kids but a lot of them just have no home training at all.Which takes us to the second thing I have learned.

I learned that I am a pretty good mom. I have learned a lot of things about myself and how to handle Savie. She is a great kid but when I step back and look at how she  behaves in public and at home. She doesn’t act us as much as some of the kids at school.Which takes us to number three.

The influence the media has on our kids. We have had to tell some of the kids not to bring certain things to school. It A lot of what is on the Disney Channel is not ok, like Hannah Montana. Most of the other stuff is ok in small doses. The way the media takes a good educational show like Dora, Diego, Thomas the Tank, and others like that and use then to sell sugar-fied yogurt and cereal’s. There is a sugar limit. Most of the kids have been given the paperwork that says what foods are ok to bring and what-not but there are still the ones that send their kids, mind you they are 3 and 4 yrs old, with pudding, a Twinkie, a jelly sandwich, and a Capri Sun. That is a lot of sugar, way more then they really need. Very few get fruits like apples slices, banana’s, or maybe an orange or veggies for that matter like, celery, cucumbers, or carrots (wow those were all “c” foods, lol).

What did you learn last year? What do you want to learn this year?

5 thoughts on “Heads or Tails #1

  1. I had a little write up on media/TV/Pixar yesterday in my blog. I so agree with what you said about some things…even from Disney, is NOT appropriate, no only in school, but in society. I’m a stinker I guess…comes with age. LOLOLOL

    Happy HoT Tuesday. My entry is posted at the top of my blog post!! Come visit if you can find time. Always love to have company such as yourself!!!

  2. I have a strong aversion to TV for kids – and the little ones I know have so much more fun doing their own ‘thing’ without learning how to emulate the sometimes ‘icky’ parts of the social scene. Good post!!

  3. Very well said. Did you say that Hannah Montana is or isn’t good? I wasn’t sure what you meant. My kids are grown so I don’t need to know for their info. Just curious.

    I give you credit for working with kids. I couldn’t do it. I like quiet too much!

Leave a Reply

