I am not “everyone”

Beauty and the Beast is back in theaters, as of yesterday. I am so thrilled! S has been asking to go see it for weeks, so of course we had to go see it. But wait, I wasn’t the only one whose kid wanted to go see it. My friend G and her kids wanted to see it. So I thought I would make a big event out of it (Similar to when “Princess and The Frog” came out). I knew I would invite people who could make it and some who wouldn’t know until the day of, and that’s fine with me. Life happens. Seeing “Beauty and the Beast” in 3D was so cool, everything I loved about the movie, watching them dance, the waterfall, the snow falling, were made even better, even the rain was better!!! There were times when it was hard for me to see what was going on because the rain was coming down so hard, lol.

Anyways, after the movie I wanted to get some pictures taken of the whole group, just like last time, before everyone took off. They were so cute in their dresses and heels and tiaras. From there we went to the inside playground so we could figure out what we wanted to do next. (The movie got out later than I thought it would) i know that S is too tall to be in there but she is well-behaved, waits her turn, and is aware of the little ones that are in there. There were a couple of other kids that were close to her height so I wasn’t worried about it.

Mall security came over to where I was sitting with my friend, trying to figure out what we should do next, and told me that he was “telling everyone with children over 42″ tall that they were too tall to play at the playground. They can sit and watch but they could not play”. I said ok, I’m waiting for my friend to get back with her kids and then we would leave.  Then he asked me of “The tall one over there” was mine. I said yes.

“She can’t play here”

My daughter is standing next to 2 other girls who were an inch shorter than her and he didn’t say a word about them. Didn’t say a word to my friend that was sitting next to me or to the other ladies that were there. JUST ME! fuming I didn’t say anything other than “OK” because I didn’t want to start cussing at him. I waited until he was gone, called S over, told her we had to leave, and then headed to the mall Management office to find out what was going on. No one was there, shock  and surprise on a Sat., and I came back to the group to get moving.

The same guard was back at the playground, I asked him his name (so when I go in on Mon I can say exactly  who it was) and finished helping S get her stuff together. He came back over and stood by where we were and that just set me off.

I told him he needed to move away, that he was upsetting the kids and myself. He tried to talk to me and I just kept telling him “NO”, there was nothing left to talk about, he need to leave us alone, we weren’t bothering anyone and we were getting ready to go. S is crying her eyes because she was singled out! Of the entire group of kids there, probably about 12 or so, she was the only he pointed out.

Now here is my question. Did someone complain about our group being loud or something or is this man a stalker? In a group of all races why was I, a Black female with a Black child, singled out of the entire group?

yes I am going to complain about this. I have been to the mall plenty of times when older kids are playing in there, taller and older than mine, and they have been rough , rude, and pushy, and security has walked by without saying a word. This was intentional, and personal. What did I do to bring this on my friends and my daughter? This mall, The Mall of Sierra Vista, has some serious issues it needs to fix. This is just the beginning.

Leave a Reply

